h1

Random Thoughts For A Monday

October 1, 2007

thoughts.jpg

I once again find myself apologizing for the long absence, at least absence from writing. Most of my study time of late has been directed toward the Hebrews class I am teaching. I continue to grow in my appreciation for this wonderful letter, addressed simply to the Hebrews and not signed by the writer.

I had the privilege of preaching for the Morning and evening worship at the Gallatin Church of Christ, in Gallatin, Tennessee yesterday. I have known of this church most of my life, but this was the first time I had visited. It was a genuine pleasure. Noel Quinn, their new minister, just started with them in April of this year. Through a mutual friend, Noel ask me to fill in for him.

I saw the following new headline at Fox News and thought for sure it was a type’o and that this actually happened in Tennessee. “Sons Stab Each Other During Chicago Mom’s Birthday Party” . Sure sounded like another red neck joke to me. I was listening to a lesson by Mark Driscoll recently. As he described how secular people see Jesus he remarked that their picture of Him is much like the pale, sickly effeminate paintings that appear in many old Bibles and art. He then said, “It is hard to worship a guy you think you could beat up”.

I have been reading a book entitled, “Wild at Heart” by John EldredgeI would highly recommend. The sub title of the book is “Discovering The Secret of a Man’s Soul”. It has been a tremendous help to my son.Hope you have a wonderful week.

4 comments

  1. Lee,
    Thanks for sharing your random thoughts.
    The book recommendation sounds good.
    I hope you have blessed week brother.
    God bless you brother! 🙂


  2. Thank you preacherman. It is always good to see you!


  3. The bit about sons stabing each other at a birthday party sounds like church!


  4. So true Ben. Although they don’t use a real knife…but I have heard of a few knock down, drag out fist a cuffs in the parking lot.



Leave a Reply

