h1

Ears To Hear

July 13, 2007

ear.jpg

There was a time when my tribe was known for their knowledge of the Bible. That time has been replaced with a knowledge of the rules, do and don’ts and how to spot a “change agent”. Many in their “holier than thou” stand for their understanding of the truth have come to epitomize those that Jesus referred to when he said, “Though seeing, they do not see; though hearing, they do not hear or understand. 14 In them is fulfilled the prophecy of Isaiah: ” ‘You will be ever hearing but never understanding; you will be ever seeing but never perceiving. 15 For this people’s heart has become calloused; they hardly hear with their ears, and they have closed their eyes. Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them.’ (Matt. 13:13-15).

Paranoia reigns supreme, as they see a liberal behind every tree. It reminiscent of the McCarty era when people were seeing a communist behind every tree. Take a moment and read Gary Kirkendall’s “A Case for the Contemporary” It will be worth you time.

7 comments

  1. Thanks for a great post and for the tip on the post by Kirkendall. I read it and left a commment.

    Keep on keeping on! I deeply appreciate your work.

    Grace to you,
    Royce Ogle


  2. Thank you for reading my blog and for the plug. I did not know you had a blog site, but I will immediately add you to my role! I really enjoyed your interview with Dr. Flew, and I have enjoyed your writings for years –“Outrageous Claims” has been most helpful.


  3. Gary’s article was great. Lee, I don’t know if you know Gary but he almost single-handedly willed the Ft. Benning work to continue at a time when I was really struggling for support. Great guy and great family.

    Ben


  4. Matthew 13:13-15 certainly fits the “holier than thou” group, but they get a completely different read on these verses, and that it actually refers to change agents, and other liberals dividing the church.

    Thanks for the referral to Gary Kirkendall’s site …absolutely a great article everyone needs to read.


  5. I think things are getting better and worse all at once.


  6. […] our tribe right now. As we talked I was reminded of a comment left in response to my recent blog, “Ears To Hear” by Matthew Dabbs. Matthew said , “I think things are getting better and worse all at once.” I think I have to […]


  7. What I find so inettesring is you could never find this anywhere else.



Leave a comment